18 November 2018


Shekhinah shines the brightest at SAMA24

by: Vusumzi Kama   date: 08 june 2018

It was a good night for newcomer Shekhinah at the 24th edition of the SA Music Awards (SAMA) held in Sun City, last weekend. 

The annual music awards are organized by the Recording Industry of South Africa (RiSA) in partnership with Bokone Bophirima’s Department of Culture, Arts and Traditional Affairs. SABC is the official broadcast partner.

Shekhinah swept the boards taking the Newcomer of the Year, Album of the Year and Female Artist of the Year awards for the sterling work on her debut album, Rose Gold.

Distruction Boyz whipped the Superbowl into frenzy when they were declared winners of the public-voted Record of the Year for their monster hit, “Omunye”.

Veteran Afro Pop band, Mafikizolo, proved their staying power when they took Duo/Group of the Year and Best Afro Pop Album awards. Adding to their Best Engineered Album (by Howard Gomba and Themba Sekowe) win, Mafikizolo walked away with three awards.

Joyous Celebration’s Joyous Celebration Volume 21, “Heal Our Land” won the Best Selling Digital Artist Award, adding to the two Best Selling DVD and Best Selling Album they won the previous night, bringing their haul to three in total.

The anthemic “Akanamali” by Sun-El Musician featuring “Samthing Soweto” was honoured with Sampra Highest Airplay of the Year and Samro Highest Airplay of the Year Composer’s Award. The previous night they won Best Collaboration Award, also making their total number of awards three. 

House DJ, Prince Kaybee, took home Male Artist of the Year award for his hits laden album “I Am Music”.

New blood made their presence felt with rapper Shane Eagle taking the Best Hip Hop Album Award and Lady Zamar winning Best Dance Music Award. In the Best Kwaito Album category, Busiswa beat the competition for her album “Highly Flavoured”. Tresor’s “The Beautiful Madness” earned him the Best Pop Album.

In gospel, Andile ka Majola was declared the winner in the Best Traditional Faith Music Album category for “Andile kaMajola Chapter 8 Sekwanele” while Vuma Zion’s Samson Aphi Amandla Akho bagged the Best African Indigenous Gospel Album.

Jo Black’s “Skepe” emerged victorious in the Beste Kontemporere Musiek Album category and Fokofpolisiekar’s “Selfmedikasie” was announced the Best Rock Album.

The glittering celebrity event hosted by TV and radio stars Somizi Mhlongo and Dineo Ranaka joined by comedian, Mpho Popps, performances by Distruction Boyz, Lady Zamar, Shwi noMtekhala, Shekhinah, Die Heuwels Fantasties, Bongeziwe Mabandla and Riky Rick.

President Cyril Ramaphosa and Arts and Culture Minister, Nathi Mthethwa, were among the dignitaries gracing the night.

RiSA CEO, Nhlanhla Sibisi, said the remarkable event celebrated “the best our country has to offer. We salute all winners and the nominees, and we thank the public for their undying support for local music. We applaud everyone who made SAMA24 such a successful project.”

“The winners were all worthy of their medals in such a competitive and prestigious event. We are proud to be associated with the SAMAs,” said MEC for Culture, Arts and Traditional Affairs, Ontlametse Mochware.