21 April 2019


Rabada shines brighter at cricket awards

by: Nthusang Lefafa   date: 08 june 2018

One of the country’s most celebrated cricketers, Kagiso Rabada, stole the show at the Cricket South Africa (CSA) awards function in Sandton last Saturday night, when he took home six awards.
Rabada (23) was awarded the overall Standard Bank Cricketer of the Season, Players’ Player of the Season, Test Cricketer, ODI Cricketer, SA Men’s Cricketer of the Year, Fans’ Player and he also produced the RAM Delivery of the Year.  The paceman took 56 wickets in 10 Tests last season.
After winning so many awards, the cricket sensation could still not believe his achievement on Monday morning. 
“Taken aback by all the awards I received..... I did not think the night would go that way, because, so many members of the team had great seasons. However, I want to thank everyone for their well wishes, it’s not taken for granted ! I Cannot wait to get back with the team,” Rabada tweeted on Monday morning.
His comments in a Cricket South Africa statement were more detailed, as he said he appreciates the recognition he has received from the cricket structures and his supporters. 
“I’m thankful that I’ve won these awards. I’ve worked quite hard. And I am just thankful for the recognition. I feel like anyone could have won them, so many people had a good season. 
“If you look at the Test matches we played, whenever we were in trouble, there was always someone different who bailed us out. There were guys like Aiden (Markram) and AB (de Villiers) and Dean (Elgar), who were consistent, but if you look at the roles that other guys played, like a Keshav (Maharaj), like a Temba (Bavuma), like a Quinny (Quinton de Kock) at Newlands... Those guys are not getting too much recognition, but when you are in the changing room, you see it all. I just feel like everyone contributed,” he said. 
Rabada is a South African international cricketer who plays all formats of the game. The fast bowler, who is also known by the nickname KG, plays domestic cricket for the Highveld Lions. He made his South African debut in November 2014 in limited-overs cricket before going on to make his Test debut in November 2015. Rabada attended St Stithians Boys College until 2013. By January 2018, he had topped both the ICC ODI bowler rankings and the International Cricket Council (ICC) Test bowler rankings aged 22.
Although he is this year’s top cricketer, the season was not all rosy for Rabada. He had a “shoulder brush” with Australian captain Steve Smith, which led to a successful appeal against the subsequent ICC two-match ban. He also sustained a back injury that prevented him from playing in the local league. 
Dané van Niekerk joined Rabada as she capped off a fruitful 2017/18 with the Proteas Women. She walked away with the SA Women’s Cricketer of the Year accolade. 
“Very overwhelming. I didn’t expect it. It’s been a very overwhelming evening, everything that Cricket South Africa has put in to recognise Women’s cricket, is really pleasing to see as a captain. I’m just excited to see what this team can do in the future,” van Niekerk said. 
Below is a list of other national professional award winners:
SA Men’s Cricketer of the Year: Kagiso Rabada
SA Women’s Cricketer of the Year: Dané van Niekerk
Standard Bank Test Cricketer of the Year: Kagiso Rabada
Standard Bank ODI Cricketer of the Year: Kagiso Rabada
Standard Bank T20 International Cricketer of the Year: AB de Villiers
SA Players’ Player of the Year: Kagiso Rabada
SA Fans’ Player of the Year: Kagiso Rabada
KFC Colonel’s Always Original Award: David Miller (fastest T20 International century v Bangladesh)
RAM Delivery of the Year: Kagiso Rabada (to Warner, 3rd Test v Australia, PPC Newlands)
International Newcomer of the Year: Aiden Markram
SA Women’s Players’ Player of the Year: Laura Wolvaardt
Momentum Women’s ODI Cricketer of the Year: Laura Wolvaardt
Momentum Women’s T20 Cricketer of the Year Chloe Tryon